On the road again..

So its been awhile.  I blame my absence on a sudden boom in my social life, planning an upcoming vacation, and keeping up with some important matters back home.  Anyways, I’m back- and I’m here to stay!  Here in The Netherlands, it is cold, windy, and rainy.  The weather the past few days (weeks, months..) confirms my suspicions that Amsterdam does not experience the season Summer, like the rest of the world.  Though grin and bear it I must, it’s a bit depressing.

However, there is something very pleasant in the near future to look forward to.  Next weekend my mother and her partner will arrive in Europe, to meet my boyfriend and I in London!  Traveling around Europe together is something most mothers and daughters only dream of, but luckily for us it will soon be a reality.  On the itinerary is: London, countryside England, Utrecht, Amsterdam, and Munich!   I couldn’t be more thrilled to have the people I love with me for such a fun experience.

I think I’ve spoken about it before, but England and I just seem to fit together quite well.  The manners, the tea, the clothing and the monarchy really hit a traditionalist chord in my being.  Though I also appreciate the more unique and nontraditional aspects of life, I have to say that on some days I would like nothing more than curl up with an Anne Boleyn novel and a cup of Earl Grey.  This country has a fascinating history of nobility, and has given us timeless literature and artists of all kinds.  What would we do without Shakespeare, Princess Diana, and The Beatles?  Hats off to you, England, I can’t wait to walk your sparkling streets again soon!

Here are some of my British favorites (they are quite feminine, I assure you):

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “On the road again..

  1. Mom

    Love this post. Can’t wait to see you and Simon on Sunday!

  2. Anne Marie & Armand

    This post is intriguing, like all your posts. Have a wonderful time on your travels with mom & Dan. Can’t wait to hear about it from mom, and then I’m sure you’ll be blogging about it later! Love you, gram & gramps

Leave a Reply

