Fun, flimsy, fantastic FOAM!

I love foam.  I didn’t always use to love foam, but since moving to Europe, I have found it a lovely companion for my drinks.  I have a fairly newfound taste for cappuccino.   Naturally, a good cappuccino always has a thick layer of milky foam that rests on top of the coffee.  This foam tastes so good, that I’ve seen people stick their fingers into their cup to scoop out the luxurious froth after the coffee is gone.  In fact, the family I work for has this really neat foam-making machine.  You pour the milk into this stainless steel milk frother, press a button, and in a minute, your cold milk is transformed into a hot, thick, enticing froth.  This is indeed a genius invention.

Now, there is another beverage in Holland that must, must, contain foam.  This is the one and only, Pilsener (Dutch for beer).  Actually, it’s extremely important that beer has at least a two fingers (measurement) worth of foam.  If the said beer does not meet this requirement, you can send the beer back, and request a new one.  Furthermore, the waiter will not be upset by this.  Foam is essential to beer.  The two must go hand in hand together, or not at all.

When I first arrived in this country, I simply didn’t understand the concept of foam.  I thought- why so much foam?  It takes up space in the glass, space that could be occupied by the afore-mentioned beverages.  In short, it seemed as though the cafe was being cheap with me.  It took approximately 2 months for me to realize that: A) Foam tastes better here B) The cafe is not trying to give me less for my money, and C) The more foam in my drink, the better!!

For all of you foam haters out there, please give this innocent garnish a second chance.  Order a cappuccino with extra foam, and partake in bubbly pleasure.  xx Helen Anne

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Fun, flimsy, fantastic FOAM!

  1. Anne Marie & Armand

    It looks as if Simon (or the waiter) took a sip of your Pilsner!
    Gramps

  2. Jen

    Lol Helen you do realize we have Pilsners in America right? Sounds like you are having a good time!!!

  3. I’m all for the foam in coffee 😀

    (By the way, you make it very hard to subscribe to your blog. Couldn’t find a “subscribe” button so I’m leaving a comment here so I can tick the “Notify me of new posts via email” option :P)

Leave a Reply

